Hunting - Hunting Lease License Required
In Texas, a landowner leasing private property for any type of consideration is required to obtain a hunting lease license from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.
These leases are valid from September 1 to August 30 of the next year. These dates may be changed by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission.
The costs for a Hunting Lease License vary by the amount of land being leased. The current rates are as follows:
Type 132 – Small – less than 500 acres - $79
Type 133 – Medium – more than 500 acres and less than 1,000 acres - $147
Type 134 – Large – 1,000 acres or more - $ 252
Multiple landowners can create a cooperative agreement and obtain a Hunting Cooperative Lease License. The current rates are as follows:
Type 182 – Small – less than 10,000 acres - $60 + $5 for each participating landowner
Type 183 – Medium – 10,000 to 50,000 acres - $120 + $5 for each participating landowner
Type 184 – Large – over 50,000 acres - $240 + $5 for each participating landowner
Additionally, there is a larger Wildlife Management Association Area Hunting Lease License that which requires a designation by the Texas Parks and Wildlife, among other things.
Failing to comply with the hunting lease license requirements is a Class C Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor. Tex. Parks & Wild. Code § 43.055. Violating this provision is punishable by a fine of $25 to $500.
***This blog post should not be taken as legal advice. The information contained does not create an attorney-client relationship. The above is general information. I am a Texas attorney licensed to practice Texas law. This blog was written to provide information about non-specific Texas law. For specific questions regarding the hunting and animal law, you should consult a Texas attorney who practices in hunting or property law.***